It’s not moderation..It is day in and day out…

Jonathan Ross said everything in moderation—it seems like such a good idea. It “feels” right because it promotes the idea of a balanced approach to nutrition in a nice, neat, simple saying. But does it help us or hurt us?

Let’s look at the term..moderation, which is defined as: restraint; avoidance of extremes or excesses; temperance. Is this really how most people act out moderation with nutrition?

For many people, moderation looks like this:

  • Day 1: A doughnut at the office
  • Day 2: A low-fat pastry with their “coffee” (meaning a couple shots of espresso in a heated milkshake of ingredients)
  • Day 3: Pizza night
  • Day 4: Cupcakes at the birthday party at the office
  • Day 5: A handful of chocolates from the candy dish
  • Day 6: A couple glasses of wine at a wine and cheese party
  • Day 7: Hot wings and a couple beers watching the game with friends

It’s been more than a week since this person had that doughnut, so those wings and beers a week later “feels” like moderation. But it isn’t. When you are eating something from the same category of non-health foods once day, it’s not a treat—it’s a habit. And your body is built on your habits. Having any type of junk food once a day isn’t moderation, it’s a lifestyle.

http://greatist.com/eat/everything-in-moderation-doesnt-work

About Banded Carolina Girl

NC girl getting healthy. Come visit me and say hello.
This entry was posted in habits, lifestyle, moderation and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to It’s not moderation..It is day in and day out…

  1. Osyth says:

    Jonathan Ross is not the originator of that expression Hesiod in the 7th Century BC though Jonathan probably has more clout these days! This is a great post – its a simple matter of arithmatic in the end but the reminder is good!

  2. So very true….and so very difficult to change permanently ….but keeping on keeping on…

  3. coversaralea says:

    I have the same problem. I say I’ll do something in moderation, but that’s never really the case. Like you said, it’s a lifestyle change.

  4. wwwpalfitness says:

    Agreed, lifestyle changes can be just do it or weaning off but doing the same bad things daily do not make change.

    • to me diet means to deprive…i love to eat/drink…i just need to be aware of my cals and start to exercise/walking when my back is better…kind of a mother nature wake up call to me w/my back hurting

      • wwwpalfitness says:

        I am having too many issues and even labels on food are bs. Weight Watcher meals have the audacity to see things like high fiber or high amount of protein when they all basically are less then 20%

      • why its best to prepare our own foods..we know whats in it..

      • wwwpalfitness says:

        I used to always cook almost the whole week of food on Sunday when married. My situation has changed and I do not have that capability.

      • yes, when i was in my mojo, i prepared mine on sunday also…i need to get back to that for best results

      • wwwpalfitness says:

        Yea it makes more sense. I live with my sister and she hoards and I simply have no space sh I shop every 2 days.

      • are you able to have a little fridge?? i feel for you and the hoarding thing as my in laws were/are and its a difficult thing to deal with…how you doing anyhow?? been rainy for about 4 days…3 more it seems like sigh 😦

      • wwwpalfitness says:

        it is going to be rainy for up to another 3-4 days. she buys things and takes up space all the time. her basement was split in half and now it is 90-10 like the fridge and freezer. its her only vice. my dealing was riding in flooded roads today with a cough and it did not help and it did not help.

      • wwwpalfitness says:

        her soon to be ex husband is in NC and he has said it is pouring there too. How it was not in Florida is beyond me.

      • well…….some areas are harder hit then us so i am grateful..rainy off and on all day….more to come til tuesday i think mr weatherman said

  5. manyofus1980 says:

    I’m trying to lose weight I know how tough it can be but it is all a matter of making healthier choices thats how I see it. Also please can you email me on manyofus1980@gmail.com want to invite you to read my updates about life, therapy, weight loss etc, i’ve started a private group where I will post them to my subscribers. X

    • hello…how are you doing? do you have a webpage or a blog i can follow as i am very interested?? eat to lose weight (same as we did to gain it) and move/exercise. i need to do better at that myself :)…..hope to hear from you soon.

Leave a Reply

